Our Team

We are a multidisciplinary team that includes a handful of staff and countless volunteers committed to healing our broken health system, one vote at a time.

Profiles of Full-Time Staff

Dr. Alister Martin, MD MPP, Executive Director

Alister Martin is a practicing emergency physician and former Chief Resident at the Massachusetts General Hospital. He is a dual degree graduate of the Harvard Kennedy School and Harvard Medical School joint degree program and served as a former Health Policy Aide to Governor Peter Shumlin of Vermont and Congressman Raul Ruiz of California and blends state and federal policy knowledge with hands-on patient experience. He now serves as faculty at Harvard Medical School in the Center for Social Justice and Health Equity working at the intersection of public policy and medicine. He leverages his background in politics, healthcare policy, and the field of behavioral economics to use the ER as a place to build programs that serve the needs of vulnerable patients that frequent it and most recently launched VotER with a team of physicians, policy and behavioral science experts. 

Aliya Bhatia, Chief Operating Officer

Aliya Bhatia is the Chief Operating Officer at VotER. She previously worked at the crossroads of education, housing, and health & wellness at Purpose Built Communities. Aliya began her career as a Teach For America corps member in New Orleans and as a strategy consultant at the Boston Consulting Group (BCG) in Atlanta. While at BCG, she supported a range of clients across sectors both on business strategy and on diversity & inclusion efforts. She completed her Masters in Public Policy from Harvard Kennedy School as a Sheila C. Johnson Leadership Fellow and is a graduate of the School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University.

Will Packer, Story and Strategy

Will Packer works to build our public narrative and the team of VotER organizers who amplify our message and the capacity of our providers. Will has worked at the intersection of politics, policy, education, and technology for over a decade. Will began his career as an organizer and then spent eight years in and around schools in Harlem and Brooklyn as a teacher, policy analyst, instructional coach, and education technology director. More recently, he directed content and production for an online organizing training platform and edited a series of policy white papers on issues facing New Yorkers. A native of Manhattan, he holds an M.P.A. from Harvard Kennedy School, an M.B.A. from The Wharton School, an M.A. in Teaching Mathematics from Relay Graduate School of Education, and a A.B. in political science from Brown University. 

%d bloggers like this: